aktuelle kunst in graz is a network of art and cultural institutions in Graz. Here you can find details about the venues and the programme on display.
Camera Austria

Lendkai 1

8020

  • Exhibition space
  • Library
Opening hours

Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun and on public holidays 10:00-18:00

Gallery Days 2021:

FRI 3 – 7 p.m.*
SAT 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.*
SUN 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.*

*Exceptions for Artelier Contemporary, kunstGarten, Kunsthaus Graz & Neue Galerie

Accessibility

  • everything is accessible

Camera Austria

The exhibition program of Camera Austria specifically addresses current image-political issues and features significant contributions by artists, many of whom are being shown in Austria for the first time. The individual projects repeatedly involve debates that are of relevance to society, with images (also photographic ones) continuing to play a central role, especially in the organization of visibilities.

In parallel, the magazine Camera Austria International has been providing its readers with insights into current discourses on the role of photography as a practice of contemporary art—presenting outstanding artists who have made extraordinary contributions to the continual development of the medium. Exhibition catalogues and books published in the Edition Camera Austria, the biannual Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz, which is awarded since 1989, the Photo Archive Pierre Bourdieu, and a comprehensive library complement the activities and the range of Camera Austria.

  • Ausstellung

3/13/2021 - 5/23/2021

If Time Is Still Alive

The good life, and the life of the city, is now a question of both time and space.
Out of the current unstable social context, the exhibition asks, in general, what new forms of time, what temporal practices and ways of being, already exist and what new forms of non-hegemonic time might emerge? Will the long-promised reconfiguration of time and life and work materialize in a way that will make more life possible, perhaps even a good life, a better life?

Within the scope of:
Die Stadt & Das gute Leben
Graz Kulturjahr 2020

  • Artists:
  • Black Quantum Futurism Collective: Camae Ayewa & Rasheedah Phillips
  • Eva Egermann
  • School of Temporalities: Maja Bekan, Annette Krauss, Julia Wieger
  • Amanda Strong & Leanne Betasamosake Simpson
  • Ultra-red

curated by: Urban Subjects (Sabine Bitter, Jeff Derksen, Helmut Weber)

.

aktuelle kunst in graz ist ein Netzwerk von Grazer Kunst- und Kulturinstitutionen. Hier finden Sie Details zu den Orten und zum ausgestellten Programm.
Camera Austria

Lendkai 1

8020 Graz

  • Ausstellungsraum
  • Bibliothek
Öffnungszeiten

Di, Mi, Do, Fr, Sa, So und an Feiertagen 10:00-18:00

Zu den Galerientagen 2021:

FR 15.00 – 19.00*
SA 11.00 – 17.00*
SO 11.00 – 17.00*

*Aussnahmen für Artelier Contemporary, kunstGarten, Kunsthaus Graz & Neue Galerie

Barrierefreiheit

  • Alles ist barrierefrei

Camera Austria

Das Ausstellungsprogramm von Camera Austria präsentiert spezifische Zugriffe auf aktuelle bildpolitische Fragestellungen und stellt bedeutende Beiträge von Künstler*innen zur Disposition, von denen viele zum ersten Mal in Österreich gezeigt werden. In den einzelnen Projekten geht es immer wieder um Debatten von gesellschaftlicher Relevanz, in denen (auch fotografische) Bilder als Medien zur Organisation von Sichtbarkeiten eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Parallel dazu gibt die Zeitschrift Camera Austria International ihren Leser*innen Einblicke in aktuelle Debatten zur Rolle der Fotografie als Praxis zeitgenössischer Kunst und präsentiert außerordentliche Beiträge zur ständigen Weiterentwicklung des Mediums. Ausstellungskataloge und Bücher in der Edition Camera Austria, der seit 1989 alle zwei Jahre vergebene Camera Austria-Preis für zeitgenössische Fotografie der Stadt Graz, das Fotoarchiv Pierre Bourdieu sowie eine umfangreiche Bibliothek ergänzen die Aktivitäten und das Angebot von Camera Austria.

  • Ausstellung

13.03.2021 - 23.05.2021

If Time Is Still Alive

Das gute Leben und das Leben in der Stadt ist heute genauso eine Zeit- wie eine Raumfrage.
Ausgehend vom aktuellen instabilen gesellschaftlichen Kontext fragt die Ausstellung ganz allgemein danach, welche neuen Zeitformen, welche zeitlichen Praktiken und Lebensformen bereits existieren und welche neuen Formen möglicher nichthegemonialer Zeit sich vielleicht herausbilden könnten. Wird die lange versprochene Neuordnung von Zeit, Leben und Arbeit so ausfallen, dass sie mehr Leben, vielleicht sogar ein gutes, ein besseres Leben ermöglicht?

Im Rahmen von:
Die Stadt & Das gute Leben
Graz Kulturjahr 2020

  • Künstler:innen:
  • Black Quantum Futurism Collective: Camae Ayewa & Rasheedah Phillips
  • Eva Egermann
  • School of Temporalities: Maja Bekan, Annette Krauss, Julia Wieger
  • Amanda Strong & Leanne Betasamosake Simpson
  • Ultra-red

Kuratiert von: Urban Subjects (Sabine Bitter, Jeff Derksen, Helmut Weber)

.