aktuelle kunst in graz is a network of art and cultural institutions in Graz. Here you can find details about the venues and the programme on display.
esc media art laboratory

Bürgergasse 5 Palais Trauttmansdorff

8010

  • Production space
  • Exhibition space
  • Art Association
  • Cultural Center
Opening hours

Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 14:00-19:00

If you register by email (esc@mur.at) or by phone (+43 316 836 000), the exhibition room will be closed to other visitors during your visit.

Gallery Days 2021:

FRI 3 – 7 p.m.*
SAT 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.*
SUN 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.*

*Exceptions for Artelier Contemporary, kunstGarten, Kunsthaus Graz & Neue Galerie

Accessibility

  • accessible toilets
  • assistance available if needed
  • everything is accessible

esc media art laboratory

The central task of esc medien kunst labor is the production of art. The main focus is on the close observation and seismographic recording of artistic processes that investigate and deal with socio-political developments (information and biotechnologies, socio-economic systems) and new technologies (hardware and software). The artistic activities are determined by the fact that art is understood as a subsystem of societal and social reality; the media-specific aspect is derived from the designation of this reality by "new" cultural technologies ["new media"].

The esc mkl is programmatically oriented towards the interests of artists as well as current research projects of scientists and theorists. The idea of networking finds expression in the continuous exchange with international artist collectives and the participation in international joint projects.

  • Ausstellung

5/14/2021 - 7/16/2021

Coexistences

"We must remain open to what we do not know, what we do not understand."
[Justine Emard

Inspired by Shintoism, Justine Emard has been working with Japanese scholars since 2016. The resulting video works Co(AI)xistence (2017), Soul Shift (2018) and Symbiotic Rituals (2019) signify a body of work that is at once technological, poetic and visual. Alter, an android robot developed by vom Ishiguro Lab (Osaka University)and Ikegami Lab (Tokyo University), is controlled by an artificial intelligence and brought to life by communication. Equipped with different intelligences, humans and robots interact through signs and signals of their respective expressions, both physical and verbal. Through shared experience, they seek to define new perspectives of living together in the world.
The works of media artist Justine Emard range between robotics, neuroscience, artificial intelligence and organic life. Exhibitions in Paris, Tokyo, Singapore, Sao Paolo, Montreal, London and Karlsruhe, among others.

https://esc.mur.at/de/projekt/coexistences

  • Artists:
  • Justine Emard

.

aktuelle kunst in graz ist ein Netzwerk von Grazer Kunst- und Kulturinstitutionen. Hier finden Sie Details zu den Orten und zum ausgestellten Programm.
esc medien kunst labor

Bürgergasse 5 (Palais Trauttmansdorff)

8010 Graz

  • Produktionsraum
  • Ausstellungsraum
  • Kunstverein
  • Kulturzentrum
Öffnungszeiten

Di, Mi, Do, Fr 14:00-19:00

Wenn Sie sich per email (esc@mur.at) oder per Telefon (+43 316 836 000) anmelden, bleibt der Ausstellungsraum während Ihres Besuchs für andere BesucherInnen geschlossen.

Zu den Galerientagen 2021:

FR 15.00 – 19.00*
SA 11.00 – 17.00*
SO 11.00 – 17.00*

*Aussnahmen für Artelier Contemporary, kunstGarten, Kunsthaus Graz & Neue Galerie

Barrierefreiheit

  • Barrierefreie Toiletten
  • Assistenz ist möglich
  • Alles ist barrierefrei

esc medien kunst labor

Die zentrale Aufgabe des esc medien kunst labor ist die Produktion von Kunst.

Hauptaugenmerk liegt dabei auf der genauen Beobachtung und seismografischen Erfassung von künstlerischen Prozessen, die gesellschaftspolitische Entwicklungen (Informations- und Biotechnologien, sozioökonomische Systeme) und Neue Technologien (Hard- und Software) untersuchen und zum Inhalt haben. Die künstlerischen Aktivitäten werden davon bestimmt, dass die Kunst als Teilsystem der gesellschaftlichen und sozialen Wirklichkeit begriffen wird; der medienspezifische Aspekt leitet sich von der Designation dieser Wirklichkeit durch „neue“ Kulturtechnologien [„neue Medien“] her.

Das esc mkl orientiert sich programmatisch an den Interessen der KünstlerInnen sowie aktuellen Forschungsprojekten von WissenschafterInnen und TheoretikerInnen. Der Vernetzungsgedanke findet im kontinuierlichen Austausch mit internationalen KünstlerInnenkollektiven und der Teilnahme an internationalen Gemeinschaftsprojekten seinen Ausdruck.

  • Ausstellung

14.05.2021 - 16.07.2021

Justine Emard. Coexistences

„Wir müssen offen bleiben für das, was wir nicht wissen, was wir nicht verstehen.“
[Justine Emard]

Inspiriert vom Shintoismus arbeitet Justine Emard seit 2016 mit japanischen Wissenschaftler:innen zusammen. Die dabei entstandenen Videoarbeiten Co(AI)xistence (2017), Soul Shift (2018) und Symbiotic Rituals (2019) signieren ein Werk, das zugleich technologisch, poetisch und visuell ist. Alter, ein vom Ishiguro Lab (Osaka University) und Ikegami Lab (Tokyo University) entwickelter androider Roboter, wird von einer künstlichen Intelligenz gesteuert und durch Kommunikation zum Leben erweckt. Ausgestattet mit unterschiedlichen Intelligenzen interagieren Mensch und Roboter durch Zeichen und Signale ihrer jeweiligen Ausdrucksformen, sowohl körperlich als auch verbal. Durch die gemeinsame Erfahrung versuchen sie, neue Perspektiven des Zusammenlebens in der Welt zu definieren.
Die Arbeiten der Medienkünstlerin Justine Emard bewegen sich an der Schnittstelle von Robotik, Neurowissenschaften, Künstlicher Intelligenz und organischem Leben. Ausstellungen u.a. in Paris, Tokyo, Singapur, Sao Paolo, Montreal, London und Karlsruhe.

https://esc.mur.at/de/projekt/coexistences

  • Künstler:innen:
  • Justine Emard

.