aktuelle kunst in graz is a network of art and cultural institutions in Graz. Here you can find details about the venues and the programme on display.
RHIZOM

Annenstraße 52

8020

  • Production space
  • Artists run
  • Cultural Initiative
  • Art collective
Opening hours

Opening hours depend on the project

Gallery Days 2021:

FRI 3 – 7 p.m.*
SAT 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.*
SUN 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.*

*Exceptions for Artelier Contemporary, kunstGarten, Kunsthaus Graz & Neue Galerie

Accessibility

  • stairs at the entrance
  • assistance available if needed

RHIZOM

RHIZOM is permanently established in Graz and conceives itself as a non-hierarchically organized collective. RHIZOM features the infracultural background for individual and collective artistic autonomy.

Our work focuses on international projects of cultural exchange on the one hand and on local conditions and ongoing events on the other. RHIZOM pursues intuitive, transdisciplinary and participatory context-art. The objective is to make our own cultural concepts more transparent, to perceive the “very different beast”, to find new points of contact and to connect what has not been connected in that specific way before. The artistic approach follows a process-oriented, open conceptual design, in which medial possibilities are being tested allowing for on-site reaction. In the end it is content which determines the medium.

Issues of form, conditions and value of non-commercial art-work are integral parts of RHIZOM-art.

  • Ausstellung

5/15/2021 - 6/2/2021

sich in die stadt einschreiben.

RHIZ* – ein Commons (Gemeingut) von a bis z, 2020–open end

c. Circumambulation of the form.
Floor language clay
Space installation

In the course of a stamping & dance performance, the clay applied around a formwork mould is processed. The different types of movement reproduce the pattern and structure of the encircling. They become the text for questioning the material – a floor language. This can be used to construct a thought building.

d. Getting down to the nitty gritty –
Practices of self-determined living

A book project (analogue & digital)

In this discourse, which is conducted by practitioners of various forms of self-organization in Austria on a highly self-reflexive level, (thought-) spaces are opened up in order to make accessible and also shareable the complex structural situations that these projects plough through in reality: the individual and the communal, self-determined living and housing, communal economies, dealing with our resources and much more. Other reactions to precarious living conditions, such as squatting, will also be addressed.

Involved: Representatives from the habiTAT network (A) such as SchloR (Vienna), Willy*Fred (Linz) and Cambium - Leben in Gemeinschaft (Fehring), as well as Mira Palmisano, former part of the Hofkollektiv Wieserhoisl (Deutschlandsberg), Tina T., experiences from various squats and in the RHIZOM context Flo Sorgo, Milo Strauss, Bettina Landl, Sanela Pansinger, H.J. Schubert, Leo Kreisel-Strausz.

.

aktuelle kunst in graz ist ein Netzwerk von Grazer Kunst- und Kulturinstitutionen. Hier finden Sie Details zu den Orten und zum ausgestellten Programm.
RHIZOM

Annenstraße 52

8020 Graz

  • Produktionsraum
  • KünstlerInnen geführt
  • Kulturinitiative
  • Kunstkollektiv
Öffnungszeiten

Öffnungszeiten sind projektabhängig

Zu den Galerientagen 2021:

FR 15.00 – 19.00*
SA 11.00 – 17.00*
SO 11.00 – 17.00*

*Aussnahmen für Artelier Contemporary, kunstGarten, Kunsthaus Graz & Neue Galerie

Barrierefreiheit

  • Stiegen beim Eingang
  • Assistenz ist möglich

RHIZOM

RHIZOM besteht seit 1988 mit Basislager in Graz. RHIZOM versteht sich als Kollektiv, das in einer nichthierachischen Struktur organisiert ist. Sie bietet den infrakulturellen Hintergrund für individuelle und kollektive künstlerische Autonomie.

Schwerpunktmäßig ist die Arbeit einerseits auf internationale Kulturaustauschprojekte gerichtet, andererseits werden lokale Verhältnisse und aktuelle Ereignisse zum Thema der Auseinandersetzung gemacht. RHIZOM verfolgt Kontext-Kunst, die unmittelbar, transdisziplinär und partizipativ ist. Ziel ist, die eigenen kulturellen Begrifflichkeiten durchlässiger zu gestalten, Anderes wahrzunehmen, neue Anknüpfungspunkte zu finden und zu verbinden, was so noch nicht verbunden wurde. Die künstlerische Vorgehensweise folgt einer prozessorientierten offenen Konzeption, in der mediale Möglichkeiten ausgetestet und auf die Gegebenheiten vor Ort reagiert werden kann. Der Inhalt bestimmt letztlich das Medium.

Fragen nach Formen, Bedingungen und Wert nichtkommerzieller Kunst-Arbeit sind integraler Bestandteil von RHIZOM-Kunst.

  • Ausstellung

15.05.2021 - 02.06.2021

sich in die stadt einschreiben.

RHIZ* – ein Commons (Gemeingut) von a bis z, 2020–open end

c. Umrundung der Form.
Bodensprache Lehm
Rauminstallation

Im Zuge einer Stampf- & Tanzperformance wird der um eine Schalungsform aufgebrachte Lehm aufbereitet. Die unterschiedlichen Bewegungsarten bilden Muster und Struktur der Umkreisung ab. Werden Text der Befragung des Materials – eine Bodensprache. Diese kann dazu verwendet werden, um sich ein Gedankengebäude zu errichten.

d. Ans Eingemachte –
Praktiken selbstbestimmten Lebens
Ein Buchprojekt (analog & digital)

In diesem Diskurs, den Praktiker*innen diverser Selbstorganisationsformen in Österreich auf hoch selbstreflexiven Niveau führen, werden (Gedanken-)Räume geöffnet, um die komplexen Gefüge-lagen, die diese Projekte in der Realität beackern, zugänglich und auch teilbar zu machen: das Individuelle und das Gemeinschaftliche, Selbstbestimmtes Leben und Wohnen, Gemeinschaftsökonomien, Umgang mit unseren Ressourcen u.v.m. Und es werden auch andere Reaktionen auf prekäre Lebensverhältnisse wie Hausbesetzungen thematisiert.

Involvierte: Vertreter*innen aus dem habiTAT-Netzwerk (A) wie SchloR (Wien), Willy*Fred (Linz) und Cambium – Leben in Gemeinschaft (Fehring), sowie Mira Palmisano, ehem. Teil des Hofkollektivs Wieserhoisl (Deutschlandsberg), Tina T., Erfahrungen aus diversen Hausbesetzungen und im RHIZOM-Kontext Flo Sorgo, Milo Strauss, Bettina Landl, Sanela Pansinger, H.J. Schubert, Leo Kreisel-Strausz

.